Blowing Fuse! Help

I’ve been running the same train/air horn setup for several years without issue. I’m not sure the brand, but if it’s not Vixen, it’s very similar in style. The compressor (30a, 150psi) and tank (1.5 gal) are separate. I ran the system in a car for many years without a relay, which was the way the original instructions said to set up. I’ve recently switched the setup to a new Dodge Ram. The compressor runs fine and kicks off at 150psi like it should. The issue is when the pressure falls below 120psi, as soon as the compressor goes to kick on, it blows the fuse (40a). Even though I am running all 12 gauge wire, I decided to go with a relay setup to see if that helped. Same thing! I have included a picture of the wiring I am currently running with the relay. I have recently changed the horn solenoid as well as tank pressure switch. The only thing I can think is that the compressor is faulty. It runs VERY hot. Any other thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Same issue. Started a week ago. Been running just fine for several months since install. Last week, 35A fuse blows. Couldn’t find any replacements so ordered them. Arrived yesterday and I installed last night. Compressor kicked in when I fired up the truck this morning. Parked and chirped the horn when I got to work and worked fine. Got home, fuse blown again.

Haven’t felt the compressor yet to check temp. Called HornBlasters for support and the guy working said he’s not familiar with the conductors special I bought and to call back during normal business hours Monday.

1 Like

A couple things.
1.How/ where is the compressor mounted. I have mine in the bed of my truck so it gets air. Check the intake filter. If it is clogged the compressor tries to pull air through the filter, feels resistance, and spikes the current as the motor begins to stall.