how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck - Train Horn Forums

Go Back   Train Horn Forums > Partners & Manufacturers > Oasis
 Register

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th November 2011
M82A1 M82A1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 2011
Posts: 11
M82A1 is on a distinguished road
Default how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

I have a Toyota Tundra with the HD 150 amp alternator. What do I need to run the Oasis XD4000?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th November 2011
ear2ear's Avatar
ear2ear ear2ear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: December 2009
Location: Middle, USA
Posts: 3,182
ear2ear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Dan will probably have a better answer, but you might get by with a GOOD replacement battery. Not sure if he would recommend an extra battery, but it would be a good idea.

1/0 wire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th November 2011
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,420
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

If the alternator delivers 150 amps at idle then you should have plenty of power. If you can mount the compressor within 10 feet your vehicle battery then our 4 gauge cable is enough. For longer distances use a larger gauge and replace as much of red power side as possible, in other words, leave 6 to 12 inches of the red power cable and splice the larger gauge to it. Run both cables to the battery and don't ground the compressor to the frame as copper conducts better than steel. It's better to use an auxiliary battery next to the compressor and use the larger gauge to connect it to the vehicle battery and shorten our 4 gauge to the auxiliary battery.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th November 2011
M82A1 M82A1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 2011
Posts: 11
M82A1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Quote:
Originally Posted by danh@oasismfg.com View Post
If the alternator delivers 150 amps at idle then you should have plenty of power. If you can mount the compressor within 10 feet your vehicle battery then our 4 gauge cable is enough. For longer distances use a larger gauge and replace as much of red power side as possible, in other words, leave 6 to 12 inches of the red power cable and splice the larger gauge to it. Run both cables to the battery and don't ground the compressor to the frame as copper conducts better than steel. It's better to use an auxiliary battery next to the compressor and use the larger gauge to connect it to the vehicle battery and shorten our 4 gauge to the auxiliary battery.
Ok what gauge wire for the "larger gauge" wire? because it is a crewmax and I believe will go over the 10 ft limit. with the price of copper no I think it might be cheaper to put the compressor under the hood and run the airhose back to the bed lol
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th November 2011
ear2ear's Avatar
ear2ear ear2ear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: December 2009
Location: Middle, USA
Posts: 3,182
ear2ear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

1/0 wire also called 0ga.
You don't need the highest quality audio wire. You can use cheaper stuff or even welding cable.

For any high amp draw system, be it audio, compressor, or whatever, you should consider upgrading the 'big 3'. There is a sticky thread about it. http://www.trainhornforums.com/showthread.php?t=4793
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th November 2011
MarineOne's Avatar
MarineOne MarineOne is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: August 2009
Posts: 1,121
MarineOne is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Welding cable FTW. You can Google prices and get a pair of 25 foot black/red cables rather cheap.



-Kris
__________________
2008 Dodge Ram 3500 QCLB SRW
Nathan AirChime K3LA
Extreme Outback EDC w/8.5 gallon tank
Titan Fuel Tank (50 gallons)
Aero Muffler 4040XL
H&S MiniMaxx w/Tow tune with DPF


My ride and install

Engine driven compressor install
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th November 2011
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,420
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

0 gauge should be ok for about 20'. Fine strand cable, like welding, conducts better than standard battery cable. An auxiliary deep cycle battery would be better as long as it's not an Optima.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th December 2011
M82A1 M82A1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 2011
Posts: 11
M82A1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Quote:
Originally Posted by danh@oasismfg.com View Post
If the alternator delivers 150 amps at idle then you should have plenty of power. If you can mount the compressor within 10 feet your vehicle battery then our 4 gauge cable is enough. For longer distances use a larger gauge and replace as much of red power side as possible, in other words, leave 6 to 12 inches of the red power cable and splice the larger gauge to it. Run both cables to the battery and don't ground the compressor to the frame as copper conducts better than steel. It's better to use an auxiliary battery next to the compressor and use the larger gauge to connect it to the vehicle battery and shorten our 4 gauge to the auxiliary battery.
I believe the alt. puts out 150 max. I'm not sure the Toyota place just said it was the HD 150 amp alt.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th December 2011
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,420
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Max output is probably around 2000 rpm.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th December 2011
M82A1 M82A1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 2011
Posts: 11
M82A1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how do I install an Oasis XD4000 on my truck

Quote:
Originally Posted by danh@oasismfg.com View Post
Max output is probably around 2000 rpm.
Ok is that enough to run the compressor? Or do I need a different alternator?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Copyright HornBlasters, Inc. All Rights Reserved.