Do you have limited space on your vehicle? - Train Horn Forums

Go Back   Train Horn Forums > Partners & Manufacturers > Oasis
 Register

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th February 2010
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,423
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default Do you have limited space on your vehicle?

Stop adding extra compressors and a bunch of tanks or larger ones when your space is limited.

Get an XD3000 with any tank size and blow your horns as often as you like. Now you have room for those extra horns!
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th February 2010
Se7en's Avatar
Se7en Se7en is offline
-censored-
 
Join Date: July 2008
Location: ןɐ 'ʎɹǝɯoƃʇuoɯ
Posts: 1,605
Se7en is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Se7en
Default

lol sales that bad?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2010
adas's Avatar
adas adas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 2008
Location: bradenton,FL
Posts: 155
adas is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to adas
Default

somehow a xd3000 on a 2 gallon tank seems a bit silly.
__________________
Custom Nathan K5...
bells 1,2,1,3,1
2 1/2" valves/lines going to it
Shocker S4 1/2" valve/line
Viiar 480c + 400c
13.5 gallon

Nice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th February 2010
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,423
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default

Acually sales are great. It's like someone threw a light switch on January 1st.

I decided to start this thread after seeing some of you guys expressing concerns about having enough space to mount everything.

An XD3000 and 2 gallon tank may seem silly but the compessor only takes 5 seconds to top it off.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2010
Twist's Avatar
Twist Twist is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: August 2008
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 3,127
Twist is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Twist
Default

How is an XD3000 on power? Such as amps to run? Will you need a large power supply? Just curious.
__________________

5 gallons....Viair 480c....Shockers....Psychoblasters....1/2" line....200psi...FTW

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2010
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,423
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default

The 12V model typically draws 150 to 160 amps with a peak of 180. The 24V model draws 80 to 90 amps. The overall current draw from any 12V or 24V compressor is the same, ours just does it faster.

A group 31, 100 AH, deep cycle Odyssey battery can run the compressor for 10 minutes, even without a charge behind it.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th February 2010
MarineOne's Avatar
MarineOne MarineOne is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: August 2009
Posts: 1,114
MarineOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Dan,

I'm converting my '08 Dodge Ram 3500 to Group 31 batteries because I hate the stock units. It's not that they don't do a good job, but I want an industrial battery because this is my tow rig for my Class IV toyhauler and I need to make sure my electrical system will be up for the added stress I know will be put on it for the compressor and charging a third battery on the RV.

Plus, I've got an extra $900 from an old employer that got caught up in a class action lawsuit because they underpaid me and needed a way to spend it on my truck.

Tag, you're it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th February 2010
ear2ear's Avatar
ear2ear ear2ear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: December 2009
Location: Middle, USA
Posts: 3,185
ear2ear is on a distinguished road
Default

Man that's a lot of current to be drawing at one time...
I would assume nothing less than 1/0 cable? Welding cable would be great in this application. It's a lot cheaper and you don't need the high dollar / fine stranded audio cable.

Just thinking that 4ga sure would be borderline especially over 10 feet.

Don't forget an isolater for the extra battery if you ever want to run it with the engine off.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th February 2010
MarineOne's Avatar
MarineOne MarineOne is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: August 2009
Posts: 1,114
MarineOne is on a distinguished road
Default

Well its a diesel and IIRC it came standard with a 165 amp alternator, so power isn't a problem. I've had cracked batteries in the past from the 1 ton suspension in my '03 3500 and would rather put batteries in the truck that are made for a truck. You know what I mean?

And yeah I was thinking nothing less than welding cable grade 1/0 for the run to the compressor. I'm ordering 4/0 for a set of homemade jumper cables, so I can order the 1/0 while I'm at it. I might even get a wild hair and just go with 2/0 to be safe.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th February 2010
ear2ear's Avatar
ear2ear ear2ear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: December 2009
Location: Middle, USA
Posts: 3,185
ear2ear is on a distinguished road
Default

lol...4/0 jumper cables
Do you know how heavy they're going to be?
1/0 is good for around 300 amps

I like your style though....Too much = Just enough
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Copyright HornBlasters, Inc. All Rights Reserved.