Go Back   Train Horn Forums > Installation Help & Advice > Miscellaneous
 Register

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10th April 2016
RT2BEAR RT2BEAR is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: April 2016
Posts: 2
RT2BEAR is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

I know is bringing up a old post but my setup just started doing this today after 1.5 year of trouble free service. I have checked every inch of wire also. Just curious what the issue was if anyone ever found out.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th April 2016
ear2ear's Avatar
ear2ear ear2ear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: December 2009
Location: Middle, USA
Posts: 3,182
ear2ear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

Hey, no problem. Welcome to the forum.

If your wires are all good, the easiest thing to check is the ground. Make sure you have bare shiny metal attaching to bare shiny metal. A bad ground can cause the compressor to draw more current.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th April 2016
RT2BEAR RT2BEAR is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: April 2016
Posts: 2
RT2BEAR is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

Appreciate it. To day I redid my wiring and got the grounds down to bare metal again and it's still doing it. I'm using a single viair 480 compressor if it matters. The tank will fill up and shut off. As soon as it losses any air the compressor never comes back on. When I look at the fuse its blown.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th April 2016
Stinkypete's Avatar
Stinkypete Stinkypete is offline
Super Stinky!
 
Join Date: February 2009
Location: LONDON - UK
Posts: 2,794
Stinkypete is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

IMO, It'll be the windings in the compressor!
On start up when there is air in the tank already, for some reason the compressor has to work that split second harder & draws more current. I have seen this two or three times now.
The last time was with a brand spanking new Viar 400c. My customer was getting a little impatient with me because I kept going back over to check the wiring installation as his kept blowing fuses! In the end, I fitted another brand brand new 400c & I have not heard a Dicky bird from him since!
__________________
https://www.trainhornforums.com/showthread.php?t=6818

K5 AIRCHIMES ON A LITTLE NEMO VAN
8.5 GALLON AIR TANK
3 x VIAIR 400c COMPRESSORs
HORNBLASTERS MANUAL VALVE
2 x 1/2" SOLENOIDS
HORNBLASTERS 100w PA SYSTEM
100ft 2 CHANNEL REMOTE CONTROL UNIT

check out www.hornstaruk.co.uk TWO IN THE PINKY, ONE IN THE STINKY!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th April 2016
danh@oasismfg.com's Avatar
danh@oasismfg.com danh@oasismfg.com is offline
Godfather
 
Join Date: September 2008
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Posts: 4,417
danh@oasismfg.com is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

Welcome to the forum.
I seem to remember some threads a few years ago about Viair compressors blowing fuses when the check valve was bad.
__________________
CFM Dude
World's most powerful 12/24 volt air compressors
Unrivaled performance / Exceptional service
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25th July 2017
fatalfury fatalfury is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: December 2015
Posts: 3
fatalfury is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HELP Blowing Fuses!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scaredu View Post
Hell I used 80amp fuses cuz mine kept blowing..never blew again after 80amps. Lol

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
can you ebay me link to the ones you have please im having that same problem mine melted lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.