'08 f250

Hello all, I recently got a Shocker 240 kit for Xmas from the wife. I was looking for some install pointers on my '08 F250. This is my first train horn kit so I’m new to this. I’ve looked around and haven’t seen much advice that would be specific for my needs so please don’t beat me up and tell me to search.

Just wondering whether I should mount the horns up front or in the back. Is it better to keep them all together or separate them and point them at different angles. And for the intake hose, what is a good location for that on a pickup truck?

Do I need to upgrade anything in this kit or will it be okay the way it is?

I have a feeling I will be upgrading to the 5gal tank in the future, and maybe bigger horns. But for now this will have to do.

Are we excited or what :). No worries about the questions. Plenty of good help to be found here.

Now… in answer to your questions:

• Mounting: Either front or back is fine. Best to find a spot where you can keep them together because you’ll want the 5/16" air lines that go between the banjo and the horns to be the same length so that they all go at the same time. Get them pointing onto the tarmac and you’ll get good sound bouncing out no matter where you’ve got 'em.

Keep the compressor intake high and dry. The HB kits all come with a comprehensive install guide. Follow that and you shouldn’t run into any trouble.

• Upgrades or other bits: No, you won’t need anything. These kits are great because everything from the hoses to the fittings to the fuses to the wires is all in there. Get it running first, think about upgrades to compressor or tank later.

Enjoy the Shockers. You’ll be wearing a grin from ear to ear when you first hit that button (… and each time after that ;))