New from Charleston, SC

Hows it going everyone, I’m new to the forum I’m just getting into the real train horns. I Just got a great deal on a leslie supertyfon in excellent condition that has a # plate on the back that says its an L3LR. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on the air supply, PSI, and the size of tubing inside diameter, and size of valve to go with. And is this a good horn. I have them mounted under a lowered b2200 mazda, I relocated the spare and built a bracket out of 1/4 steel flat bar. They look like they were made to go in that spot. To be such a large set of horns you would have to actually get under the truck to really notice them.

welcome to the forums… for a leslie go with maximum of 140 psi and minimumof 1/2 air line and 1/2 valve

same as ^^^^ i have a set of leslies as well that im gathering parts and pieces to install. ive decided to run them at about 140-145 and no more. running more psi than that will damage the diaphrams and power chambers. What kind of air system are you using and welcome to the forums… as i have found, you can learn alot here. btw… great set of horns just use alot of air

recomened more than 8 gallons of air…1/2 air valve…

5 gallon tank would work too. That’s what I use.

I don’t have a tank or compressor yet. I didn’t wanna go out and buy something under sized. I have about 50’ 1/2" poly tube that I was thinking about using. I’m gonna order a 1/2 valve from hornblasters, and I’m looking at the 5 gallon viair setups. Man I cant wait to get these monsters working!
I didn’t realize how much air the leslies consume until I read some posts on here.

Are the leslies worth having to get a larger air supply. I’ve heard some sound clips, but its different from hearing them in person.

WElcome to the fourms

Thanks, good to be here!