New from Saint Cloud Florida

Hello all, I ran across this site looking for good information on train horns. I have nothing specific yet in mind as far as a set of horns go, but I have a specific project I am going to be working on.

The high school I graduated from and played football for (which I am still close with the coaches and staff) are looking for a “noisemaker” to sound off whenever a touchdown is made or a fumble is recovered (you get the idea) and since the mascot is a Cowboy (Spelled Kowboy’s because they are in Kissimmee) I plan on building a cowboy style chuck wagon to house a train horn with compressor and tank.

Im here looking for information and to get a general knowledge of where I need to be as far as my project goes on the horn end.

The only thing I can think of out of the box is that the louder the better.

Thanks for reading. Have a great day.

Just a few thoughts Ive had.

I plan on running a gas compressor. Most likely a wheelbarrow style and connecting that to a larger tank. I have a 65 gallon tank sitting around (an old electric compressor) for volume.

Everything else is up in the air, but I will have more than enough room to fit whatever is needed.

Im thinking I will be able to do most whatever Id want to with a 65 gallon tank.

Im open to any and all suggestions and or information so please feel free to post what you like and what you don’t.

Welcome to the forum. First thing … if you have an old 65 gallon tank you want to use, you’ll want to get that hydro pressure tested. For a big train horn (e.g. a 5 chime Nathan or Leslie) you will want to have above 110 psi in that tank. A tank that size at that pressure represents a serious danger that could easily kill someone if it fails. Get it tested - period, or go for a much smaller tank.