New guy, La Place, LA

Hi there from La Place, LA…(20 mins from New Orleans) My name is Donny and Im a noob to the trainhorn scene. I just purchased a conductor special 540 kit for my 2008 tacoma Xrunner. I haven’t really looked at the kit yet to check its components but do have a few questions about wiring installation. I don’t plan on wiring it to a switch with the oem horn unless its absolutely required. I did plan on a push button switch in one of my spare blanks in the dash to trigger the horn.

My only potential issue is, how exactly would I go about properly wiring the compressor to kick on only when the truck is running? Is there a simpler way to just use a relay or a toggle switch? I’m not 12/24 volt savvy and don’t really want to go tinkering into my harnesses if I don’t have to…:cool:

yea, do a relay, or buy a pressure switch with a built in relay. and it will have 1 wire go to the battery, and another will go to a 12 volt source, one that you can pick, that is only hot when the car is running. Is that what you want to know?

More or less, I’m a bit unsure til I really start looking into the kit. I just dont want to tap into my existing harness, I really want to do it safely but at the same time keep the wiring modifications to a mininum.

Hello and welcome, from Baton Rouge.

Like Twist said, wire the relay to a source that is switched on/off via the ignition. You can use a fuse tap like this http://www.autozone.com/autozone/catalog/accessories/accProductDetails.jsp?displayName=FuseandAccessories&itemId=394-10&navValue=100394&parentId=367-10&productId=6427&fromString=&itemIdentifier=6427_0_0_&filterByKeyWord=&categoryNValue=&store=131&skuDisplayName=Bladefusetaps&categoryDisplayName=ElectricalandLighting&_requestid=116850 and insert it into your fuse panel with a fuse for a component that is switched with the ignition.