Wiring ?

Hey guys,

A few questions regarding wiring my new Shocker kit (Conductor’s Special 540). It’s probably a common and basic scenario but I am very new to this and want to get it right the first time. Please bear with me :confused:

1. I want to install a toggle switch that will allow me to turn my compressor on and off at will. I only want the compressor to come on when the truck is running. I will probably leave it on most of the time and let the pressure switch do it’s job but I want some way to control it manually if need be.

2. I also want to install a momentary horn button because I do not want my train horns linked to the factory horn at all. I’m guessing the button would be wired directly to the electric solenoid valve? I bought a button–I hope it will suit my purposes??: GC brand Part # 35-3427 Off-(On) AC pushbutton, Rating 15A 125V, 10A 250V AC. Here is a link to what I got:
    https://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/NNSRIT?PMPXNO=5509045&PMT4NO=0

I started to second guess myself after I bought it when I saw the AC in the rating. Do I need one that says DC? I have a feeling I may be going back to the electronics store??

If I can get it set up like this I would be happy but if possible I would also like to have that toggle switch act as sort of a safety for the horn button–i.e. the horn button will not work unless the toggle switch is on. Would I be able to have the one toggle serve two purposes or would I need an extra toggle. (Or am I being too picky with my setup??) I would appreciate any advice/direction as to how to accomplish this. Thanks

for 1) do you have the pressure switch as a relay that hornblasters sells? that would have 2 sources of power, 1 to the battery, and the second to a 12 volt ignition source. the compressor wouldn’t run unless your truck is running. But put a toggle switch after the batter and before the relay. and that will allow you to turn it on and off at will.