What should I expect?

Hey everyone, it’s been a while since I’ve been on here, and I kinda wish that I wasn’t returning on this part of the forum, but oh well. Back in November, after over four beautifully loud years with my horn setup, my compressor started to take longer and longer to finish it’s job and I don’t think I was getting long enough into a honk before it switched back on. One night, after a semifinal win (I’m a high school football coach), I wanted to celebrate by giving the world a wake up call. I pushed the button and what came out of the horns can only be described as a baby ferry horn. It was like Morgan Freeman letting out a long sigh, only not as interesting. I pulled over and popped my trunk to pull my release valve, thinking that if I manually brought it to below the compressor’s activation point, it would fix itself (sounds stupid, but hindsight is 20/20). After letting out a very weak burst of air, nothing happened. It’s been like that to this day, but I just called HB and they sold me a replacement pressure switch, which should be arriving sometime next week. I’m pretty sure that it’s the switch that’s giving me grief, but I wanted to ask you guys if you’ve ever heard of or experienced anything similar to my situation, what you did to solve the problem, and if a moron who thinks that an air compressor can fix itself can repair the issue without losing too much of my blood supply. Thanks everyone!

I would use a voltmeter to see if the compressor is getting power with no air in the tank.
If not, the pressure switch isn’t doing its job.
If the compressor is getting power and not running, you have yourself a different problem.

I used one and it showed that power was going into the relay, but wasn’t making it back out. Was ordering a new switch the right move?

Probably…

Also, check the ground to the relay. Corrosion can creep up and bad ground would cause it not to work.

Make sure the trigger wire actually has power too.